The OBAA provides the means whereby overseas bank representatives may meet together on a social basis to maintain personal and business contacts; and to enhance relations between overseas bank representatives and the resident Australian banking, commercial and government organisations.

The Association is a non-profit and non-political association.



Overseas Bankers Association of Australia End of Year Event

We are delighted to invite OBAA members and their guests to the final OBAA event for 2021, being our popular End of Year Event. In a year that has been impacted by COVID, we look forward to catching up with colleagues, associates and welcoming our new members who joined in 2021. The venue is the fabulous Rooftop of the Grace Hotel – with our host & sponsor for the evening being Fintech provider Grapple.


Thursday 2nd December 2021

5:30pm arrival for 6pm start until late


Grapple Head Office (Grace Hotel Rooftop)

Level 12, 77 York Street Sydney


OBAA Members & Guests: $50 Non-members: $75




Any questions please contact Hilton Wood on 0419 032 419 or




Hilton Wood.jpg

Doha Bank

Honorary President


BNY Mellon

Honorary Vice President


Honorary Secretary

Damien Photo (2) (1).jpg

Bank of Queensland

Honorary Treasurer

Andrew Henderson, CBA
Jennifer Estrada, NAB
Andre Danelian, JP Morgan
Jenny Hutchings, ANZ
Anders Leftinger, Citi Group
Judy Margala, Wells Fargo
Michael Reidy, Westpac



Baker McKenzie

(Honorary Member)

The Bank of New York Mellon


Commonwealth Bank of Australia


Mizuho Bank

Sumitomo Mitsui Banking Corporation

Standard Chartered Bank

Deutsche Bank

Australia and New Zealand Banking Group

Bank of Sydney

China Everbright Bank

Commerzbank AG

ING Bank N.V.

National Australia Bank

United Overseas Bank


Arab Bank Australia Limited

Bank of America

Merrill Lynch

BNP Paribas

China Merchants Bank

Doha Bank

Intesa Sanpaolo

National Bank of Greece

Wells Fargo

Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce


(Honorary Member)

Bank of Communications

Bank of Queensland

Citibank Australia

Global IME Bank

JP Morgan

The Bank of Nova Scotia

Westpac Banking Corporation

Credit Agricole 



The first meeting of the Overseas Bankers Association of Australia (OBAA) was held on 27 August 1984 at the Imperial Services Club in Sydney. 52 representatives of the 101 foreign banks operating in Sydney at the time attended the meeting.

A Steering Committee was established and at the end of January 1985 a letter was sent to all foreign banks represented in Australia advising that a general meeting would be held on 20 February 1985 to approve the constitution and elect the office bearers. 72 representatives from 61 foreign banks attended the meeting.

The first meeting of the new Committee was held on 18 April 1985. A letter from the Federal Treasurer, Paul Keating, was read welcoming the formation of the OBAA and giving the Government’s official recognition. The Governor General, Sir Ninian Stephen, also conveyed best wishes for the success of the Association.

The guest of honour and speaker at the Foundation Luncheon was Sir Bede Callaghan, former Managing Director of the Commonwealth Bank and at the time the Chairman of the Foreign Investment Review Board. Guests from the Reserve Bank, Australian Bankers Association and Australia Merchant Bankers Association were also invited to attend. 97 members and guests attended the foundation luncheon.


The OBAA continues to thrive with a number of banks enjoying membership of the Association.

The OBAA is managed by a Committee comprised of a diverse group of bankers from both foreign and domestic banks. The Association conducts functions on an annual basis for the benefit of its members and these range from cultural nights and thought leadership lunches to golf days and ‘young banker’ networking events. Membership is at the institutional level which enables all staff of a member institution to attend functions at the ‘member’ rate.


As a mature association, we look at the role foreign banks have had in the development of Australia, the economy and the thousands of individual Australians who have worked for and learned their skills from foreign banks. We also look to the involvement that foreign banks will have in the future development of the Australian economy.

The OBAA recognises the work done by long standing members of the foreign bank community, awarding our first Life Membership in 2008.  Currently, there are eight Life Members of the OBAA.


In 2020, in keeping with the continuing development of the Association, we recognised the 35th anniversary of its establishment.



Thank you, we will be in touch!